Starting fresh

I’m usually not one to talk about myself. When people ask me what’s been going on in my life my usual answer is “not much.” Most of the time that’s true. At that exact moment, it’s true. I probably don’t have much going on and certainly nothing worth sharing with anyone. I generally think I live a pretty mundane life and on a day-to-day basis, it’s usually true.

Looking at the last three years, however, it’s really surreal to think about everything that’s happened since I graduated college. I started a monstrous project that got way more support than I thought it would and that led me to getting a consulting job with an NHL club, something I didn’t think would ever happen. That alone was a great experience and the fact that I got to do it for two years was pretty awesome.

I’ve also come out of my shell a bit the last year or so. I’m going to more concerts, trying to be more social and less of a miserable person to be around. I’m still kind of messed up but that’s okay. Where I am now is further than I thought I would be three years ago where I thought 2014 would be the end.

Three years really isn’t that long, but a lot can get accomplished during that time and there’s certainly a lot that has gone on for me during that time. The question now is what comes next?

I’m “free” for lack of a better word and can do whatever I want. I could return to the blogging world, which I miss at times. Talking hockey and breaking down game footage is my favorite stress reliever, so I am definitely looking forward to getting into that again. My other favorite stress reliever is music, as anyone who follows (followed?) me on Twitter probably knows. Most of my conversations now are about this subject and I’ve met some awesome people through it, so I might start a blog on that if I think it’s worth the time. I’ve also thought about starting Shutdown Line again and get back to blogging about the Hurricanes again since I miss that community/fanbase. Starting another big data collection project is also on my mind but I need to think before jumping into something like that again.

Basically what I’m trying to say is that I have no idea what the hell I’m going to do next but it’s the first of July, so there’s no rush. In the meantime, I’ll be posting some stuff here until I find a permanent home/idea.

2 thoughts on “Starting fresh

  1. This is great, Corey. I’ve been a fan on Twitter for a while, and I’m looking forward to following you here as well.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

